Seminar Event

Results for events from 2012-07-01 to 2013-06-30
Future or past events may be found by using the Search tab above.

Lizhen Ji - organizer

Seminar List

pdf version

Date Speaker Seminar Title
Tuesday, September 11, 2012
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3096 East Hall *
Barry Simon
Caltech
What is... ? What is the Spectral Theory of Orthogonal Polynomials

Tuesday, September 25, 2012
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3096 East Hall *
Jeff Rauch
UM
What is... ? What is ... geometric optics?

Tuesday, October 02, 2012
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3096 East Hall *
Anna Gilbert
Univ of Michigan
What is... ? What is...Compressed Sensing?

Tuesday, October 09, 2012
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3096 East Hall *
Jinho Baik
UM
What is... ? What are ... Tracy-Widom distributions?

Tuesday, October 23, 2012
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3096 East Hall *
Dmitriy Boyarchenko
Univ of Michigan
What is... ? What is ... Deligne-Lusztig theory

Tuesday, October 30, 2012
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3096 East Hall *
Yuval Peres
Microsoft Research Redmond
What is... ? What is ... the mixing time and the cover time for random walk on a graph?

Tuesday, November 06, 2012
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3096 East Hall *
David Speyer
What is... ? What is ... a Grobner basis

Tuesday, November 13, 2012
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3096 East Hall *
Peter Miller
University of Michigan
What is... ? What is ... the inverse-scattering transform?

Tuesday, November 20, 2012
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3096 East Hall *
Martin Strauss
University of Michigan
What is... ? What is ... a computer?

Tuesday, November 27, 2012
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3096 East Hall *
Zuoqin Wang
Univ of Michigan
What is... ? An invitation to spectral geometry

Tuesday, January 15, 2013
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall *
Peter Miller
Univ of Michigan
What is... ? What is the inverse-scattering transform?

Tuesday, January 29, 2013
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall *
Jean-francois Lafont
Ohio State University
What is... ? What is... a homology manifold?

Tuesday, February 19, 2013
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall *
Joseph Silverman
Brown University
What is... ? A whirlwind survey of the arithmetic of elliptic curves

Tuesday, March 12, 2013
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall *
Andreas Blass
University of Michigan
What is... ? What Is ... Ingleton's Inequality?

Tuesday, March 19, 2013
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall *
John Schotland
University of Michigan
What is... ? What is ... the inverse problem?

Tuesday, March 26, 2013
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall *
Mattias Jonsson
Univ of Michigan
What is... ? What is a Berkovich space

Tuesday, April 02, 2013
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall *
Bob Griess
Univ of Michigan
What is... ? What is moonshine?

Tuesday, April 23, 2013
Start: 2:10 PM
Location: 3866 East Hall *
Bill Fulton
Univ of Michigan
What is... ? What is ... a bad math talk?

Seminar List

 

* non-standard time or location

To receive seminar email notifications of join the math-seminars email group.

Seminar coordinators may add/edit events (login required).
For access requests and instructions, contact math-webmaster@umich.edu

Back to previous page
Back to UM Math seminars/events page

For website problems, contact Math Webmaster