Seminar Event

Results for Colloquium Series events from 2017-09-01 to 2018-06-30
Future or past events may be found by using the Search tab above.

Unless otherwise indicated, the Colloquium is held from 4:00-5:00 pm on Tuesdays. (i.e. it starts 4:10 pm) Cookies, tea, and coffee are served in the Common room at 3:45-4:00 before the Colloquium. John McCarthy (Washington University) has written a nice article describing how to give a good colloquium (Canad. Math. Soc. Notes vol 35 no. 3-4, Sept. 1999). We also have a local guide which contains useful information about our colloquium and environs. Finally, we have a detailed set of instructions for hosting.

Seminar List

pdf version

Date Speaker Seminar Title
Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Elizabeth Seney
University of Michigan, Office of Institutional Equity
Colloquium Series Training on Harassment and Discrimination

Tuesday, September 19, 2017
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Jun Zhang
University of Michigan
Colloquium Series Information Geometry: Geometrization of Statistical Inference and Information

Friday, September 29, 2017
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Pham Tiep
Rutgers University
Colloquium Series Representations of finite groups and applications

Tuesday, October 03, 2017
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Demetrios Christodoulou
ETH
Colloquium Series The Development of Shocks in Compressible Fluids

Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Yuri Gurevich
Microsoft Research
Colloquium Series Logic in computing

Tuesday, October 17, 2017
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Fall Break
Colloquium Series Fall Break

Tuesday, October 24, 2017
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Florian Pop
University of Penn
Colloquium Series The Ihara/Oda-Matsumoto Conjecture (I/OM)

Thursday, November 02, 2017
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Alex Wright
Stanford University
Colloquium Series Dynamics, geometry, and the moduli space of Riemann surfaces

Tuesday, November 07, 2017
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Henry Kim
University of Toronto
Colloquium Series Number theoretic results in a family of number fields

Friday, November 10, 2017
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Peter May
University of Chicago
Colloquium Series Glimpses of equivariant algebraic topology

Monday, November 13, 2017
Start: 3:10 PM
Location: 3096 East Hall *
Mark Behrens
Notre Dame University
Colloquium Series Detectors in homotopy theory

Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Alexandru Ionescu
Princeton University
Colloquium Series On the global regularity of certain quasilinear evolution models

Wednesday, November 29, 2017
Start: 3:10 PM
Location: 4448 (Psychology Dept Side) East Hall *
Jennifer Wilson
Stanford University
Colloquium Series Stability in the homology of configuration spaces

Tuesday, December 05, 2017
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Lydia Bieri
University of Michigan
Colloquium Series TBA

Tuesday, January 16, 2018
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Rudy Horne
Morehouse College
Colloquium Series Parity-Time (PT) Symmetric systems: An analysis of dimer and trimer models

Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Eckhard Meinrenken
University of Toronto
Colloquium Series TBA

Tuesday, February 06, 2018
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Qing Han
Notre Dame University
Colloquium Series TBA

Tuesday, February 13, 2018
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Andre Neves
University of Chicago
Colloquium Series TBA

Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
George Pappas
Michigan State University
Colloquium Series TBA

Tuesday, February 27, 2018
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Winter Break
Colloquium Series TBA

Tuesday, March 06, 2018
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Selim Esedoglu
University of Michigan
Colloquium Series TBA

Tuesday, March 13, 2018
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Jeff Diller
Notre Dame University
Colloquium Series TBA

Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Xiaojun Huang
Rutgers University
Colloquium Series TBA

Tuesday, April 03, 2018
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Nizar Touzi
Ecole Polytechnique, France
Colloquium Series The first talk of the Van Eenam lectures

Tuesday, April 10, 2018
Start: 4:10 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall
Gunther Uhlmann
University of Washington
Colloquium Series Ziwet Lecture

Seminar List

 

* non-standard time or location

To receive seminar email notifications of join the math-seminars email group.

Seminar coordinators may add/edit events (login required).
For access requests and instructions, contact math-webmaster@umich.edu

Back to previous page
Back to UM Math seminars/events page

For website problems, contact Math Webmaster