Seminar Event

Results for Colloquium Series events from 2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Future or past events may be found by using the Search tab above.

Unless otherwise indicated, the Colloquium is held from 4:00-5:00 pm on Tuesdays. Cookies, tea, and coffee are served in the Common room at 3:45-4:00 before the Colloquium. John McCarthy (Washington University) has written a nice article describing how to give a good colloquium (Canad. Math. Soc. Notes vol 35 no. 3-4, Sept. 1999). We also have a local guide which contains useful information about our colloquium and environs. Finally, we have a detailed set of instructions for hosting.

Seminar List

pdf version

Date Speaker Seminar Title
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
Charlotte Chan
Princeton University
Colloquium Series Flag varieties and representations of p-adic groups

Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
Alexander Smith
Harvard University
Colloquium Series NT RTG Lectures I: $2^k$-Selmer groups and Goldfeld's conjecture.

Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
Ioannis Karatzas
Columbia University
Colloquium Series Mathematical Aspects of Arbitrage

Tuesday, October 01, 2019
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
Alex Perry
IAS, Princeton
Colloquium Series Derived categories of cubic fourfolds and their geometric applications

Tuesday, October 08, 2019
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
Michael Lipnowski
McGill University
Colloquium Series Algorithms for covering by balls

Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Fall Break
Colloquium Series Fall Break

Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
Sam Payne
University of Texas at Austin
Colloquium Series Tropical curves, graph homology, and top weight cohomology of M_g

Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
Chelsea Walton
University of Illinois
Colloquium Series Quantum Symmetry

Tuesday, November 05, 2019
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
Richard Rimanyi
University of North Carolina
Colloquium Series From counting partitions to the structure of motivic characteristic classes

Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
Benoit Pausader
Brown University
Colloquium Series TBA

Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
Vladimir Sverak
University of Minnesota
Colloquium Series TBA

Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
Andrew Snowden
University of Michigan
Colloquium Series TBA

Tuesday, December 03, 2019
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
TBA
Colloquium Series On hold

Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
Shuichiro Takeda
University of Missouri
Colloquium Series TBA

Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
Christian Schnell
Stony Brook University
Colloquium Series TBA

Tuesday, March 03, 2020
Winter Break
Colloquium Series Winter Break

Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
Laure Saint Raymond
ENS, Lyons
Colloquium Series TBA

Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
Bruno Klingler
Humboldt University
Colloquium Series Spring lectures in algebraic geometry

Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Start: 3:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
CRLT CRLT
University of Michigan
Colloquium Series CRLT

Tuesday, April 07, 2020
Start: 4:00 PM
Location: 1360 East Hall *
John Voight
Dartmouth College
Colloquium Series TBA

Seminar List

 

* non-standard time or location

To receive seminar email notifications of join the math-seminars email group.

Seminar coordinators may add/edit events (login required).
For access requests and instructions, contact math-webmaster@umich.edu

Back to previous page
Back to UM Math seminars/events page

For website problems, contact Math Webmaster