Math 156 - Applied Honors Calculus II - Fall 2017
Math 156 is intended for engineering and science students who received a score of 4 or 5 on the Advanced Placement Calculus exam (AB or BC). For more details see the course description.
section 1, MTuWF 10-11am, Robert Krasny, 1372 East Hall
section 2, MTuWF 11-12pm, Robert Krasny, 1372 East Hall
section 3, MTuWF 8-9am, Ling Xu, 2062 Palmer Commons
section 4, MTuWF 9-10am, Ling Xu, 2062 Palmer Commons
schedule, syllabus, first day handout, lecture notes
hw1 due: Tues Sept 12
hw2 due: Tues Sept 19
hw3 due: Tues Sept 26
hw4 due: Tues Oct 3
hw5 due: Fri Oct 13
hw6 due: Tues Oct 24
hw7 due: Tues Oct 31
hw8 due: Tues Nov 7
hw9 due: Tues Nov 14
hw10 due: Wed Nov 29
hw11 due: Wed Dec 6

Computer Lab worksheet Fri Sept 22, meet in B727 East Hall
1st midterm exam, Wed Oct 4, 6:15-7:45pm, 182 Weiser Hall review sheet, solutions
2nd midterm exam, Wed Nov 15, 6:15-7:45pm, 182 Weiser Hall review sheet, solutions
final exam, Thurs Dec 14, 8-10am, 061 UMMA (University of Michigan Art Museum) review sheet, solutions (some still to be completed)

Study Groups
The Science Learning Center offers study groups for Math 156 students. The groups meet weekly to review course material. Each group has 8-12 members and is facilitated by a student who took the class previously. Group membership is voluntary, but requires active participation and regular attendance. See the SLC website for more details.
Student Data Form Form FAQ
Math 255 - Applied Honors Calculus III (multivariable calculus) [info]
Math 256 - Applied Honors calculus IV (differential equations) [info]
"You need the willingness to fail all the time. You have to generate many ideas and then you have to work very hard only to discover that they don't work. And you keep doing that over and over until you find one that does work." - John Backus, lead developer of Fortran