F-singularities and D-modules

August 6 - 10, 2007

University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan




Ann Arbor

University of Michigan

Mathematics Department

Airport shuttle number:


(reserve 24h in advance)



For website problems, contact webmaster





The main goal of the workshop is to discuss the approach to singularities in positive characteristic using the Frobenius morphism. This approach came out of tight closure theory in commutative algebra, but it was realized in the last few years that it has close connections with other points of view on singularities, especially with the theory multiplier ideals in characteristic zero. In particular, one of the deeper questions in the field deals with the comparaison between the characteristic zero and the characteristic p invariants.

The workshop will focus on explaining the basic questions in the field, and at the same time, on exploring possible connections with other fields. In particular, the talks in the morning will be of an expository nature, introducing the main ideas on F-singularities, multiplier ideals, D-modules in zero, positive and mixed characteristic, F-modules, and the Riemann-Hilbert correspondence in positive characteristic. We will have no more than four talks a day, so there will be plenty of time for informal discussions.


All talks will be in Room 4088 (this is on the 4th floor, on the left as you exit the elevator).

The following is the list of confirmed outside participants:

Josep Alvarez-Montaner (Universitat Politècnica de Cataluniya)
Pierre Berthelot(Université de Rennes)
Manuel Blickle (Universitat Essen-Duisburg)
Nero Budur (University of Notre-Dame)
Holger Brenner (University of Sheffield)
Florian Enescu (Georgia State University)
Craig Huneke (Univerity of Kansas)
Gennady Lyubeznik (University of Minessota)
Tom Nevins (U. of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
Arthur Ogus (U. of California, Berkeley)
Mathias Schulze(Oklahoma State University)
Anurag Singh(University of Utah)
Shunsuke Takagi (Kyushu University)
Uli Walther (Purdue University)
Kei-ichi Watanabe (Nihon University)
Yongwei Yao (Georgia State University)
Ken-ichi Yoshida (Nagoya University)

The workshop is supported by a Packard Fellowship. If you want to attend the workshop, please contact Mircea Mustaţă.


Department of Mathematics  |  2074 East Hall  | 530 Church Street  
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1043
Phone: 734.764-0335  |  Fax: 734.763-0937

Site errors should be directed to math-webmaster@umich.edu